Brasenose has three excellent libraries which members can access 24 hours a day. There are collections in all subject areas covered by the College. The Library holds approximately 50,000 titles and subscribes to around 75 periodicals.
The Main Library was opened in 1664, although it was restricted to use by Fellows of the College until 1897. It is on the first floor above a former cloister and is an impressive room with a painted barrel-vaulted ceiling and expansive views of the Radcliffe Camera and All Souls College.
The Hulme Library holds the modern history, politics and geography collections and is reached from the Main Library by a short staircase. It was opened in 1951 and features two Tudor chimneys which were uncovered in a fire in 1950.
The Stallybrass Memorial Library, named after a former Principal, houses the College’s law collections.
Brasenose holds a substantial and interesting collection of antiquarian books and manuscripts dating back to the sixteenth century. It is believed that by the mid-sixteenth century Brasenose owned in excess of 100 volumes and now holds around 2,500 books published before 1641. Many of these were chained until 1780 when a major refurbishment took place under the direction of James Wyatt.
In addition to the Library collections, the College Archive holds a substantial amount of papers and volumes relating to the history of Brasenose, its members, buildings, estates and administration. The College Archive is committed to preserving long term access to those records considered to be of enduring interest.